Jump to content

Lightroom Next Steps

Class dates: June 14 - July 18, 2021

 

Class kickoff Zoom session on Monday, June 14 at 8 PM Eastern / 7 PM Central / 6 PM Mountain / 5 PM Pacific. This session will be approximately 30 minutes.

 

ULTIMATE:  $249 for 5 weeks

Enrollment:  Limit 15

  • Access to pre-recorded and written instructional materials
  • Exclusive access to attend our Kickoff and live Group Study Hall live sessions
  • View all recordings of all Group Study Hall sessions
  • Read and respond to all posts in class-related forums 
  • Submit assignments for instructor feedback via the Assignment forum
  • Post questions and photos in the Discussion forums

 

Zoom study hall for Ultimate students will be held Fridays at 2 PM Eastern / 1 PM Central / Noon Mountain / 11 AM Pacific. Study hall sessions are approximately 60 minutes.

 

ENHANCED: $149 for 5 weeks

Enrollment: Unlimited

  • Access to pre-recorded and written instructional materials
  • View all recordings of all Kickoff and Group Study Hall sessions
  • Read all posts in class-related forums 
  • Post questions and photos in the Discussion forum

 

In Lightroom Next Steps, you can expect to:

  • Continue working with the step-by-step process introduced in Lightroom Foundations
  • Continue to learn to analyze your photos so you know what changes to make to them
  • Learn Noise Reduction with Topaz DeNoise AI
  • Learn Sharpening  with Topaz Sharpen AI
  • Learn when and how to use Adjustment Brushes
  • Learn when and how to apply Graduated and Radial filters
  • How to create and use presets
  • How to move images between Lightroom and Photoshop
  • How to use the Clarity, Texture, Dehaze, Vibrance, and Saturation sliders

 

 

Who is this class for?

  • Photographers who want to improve their skills in Lightroom by using more of the tools available 
  • Photographers who want to take more control over the way their images look
  • Photographers with a strong grasp of the basics and want to take their images to the next level

 

Who isn't this class for?

  • Photographers who are completely happy with their post-processing workflow and techniques

 

The software we will use is Adobe Lightroom Classic, but it is also possible to use Adobe Photoshop Camera Raw instead.  Post-production work will emphasize enhancing our images, not "fixing" them.  However, the skills you learn in class will allow you to fix your photos if you don't get it exactly right in the camera.  

 

Teaching Approach

  • Lectures are released 1-2 times a week, along with a corresponding assignment that follows the lecture material. Ultimate students can submit images for each assignment as directed, as well as additional submissions with revisions to your images based on instructor feedback.  
  • Some assignments include step-by-step instructions to follow to demonstrate that the student understands a skill. Some are more open-ended, leaving more of the choices for the student to make in how they complete the assignment.
  • Lectures are primarily written, with supplementary videos from a variety of sources on YouTube.  Some videos may have subtitles, but it varies depending on the source.
  • Ultimate students will be able to attend weekly live zoom study hall sessions. These will be held on a different day/time each week so that all Ultimate students will have a chance to attend. Enhanced students will have access to the study hall recordings.

 

Computer skills required to be successful in this class

  • Moderate level of comfort with computers in general
  • Understand the directory structure of your hard drive (where image files are located)
  • Where to find files downloaded from a web browser
  • How to upload photos to Google Photos album (tutorial available)
  • Create screenshots and upload them to a Google Photos album (tutorial available)

 

Class Requirements

 

Lightroom Subscription

  • You can sign up for a subscription to Adobe's Creative Cloud software here: https://creative.adobe.com/plans?store_code=en&promoid=KSDPZ
  • Select the "Photography" plan for $10/month.  This will give you both Photoshop and Lightroom Classic.
  • Enhanced students can follow along with the class with either Photoshop/Lightroom or Photoshop Elements, as long as they understand not all of the features will be available in Elements or older version of Lightroom/Photoshop. No class support is available for students who chose to use Elements or an older version of Lightroom. 

 

Monitor Calibration

You need to calibrate your laptop or desktop computer monitor to get the best and most consisitent color and brightness results from your post-processing.  If your monitor is not calibrated, neither one of us can be confident that the photo looks the same on your screen as it does on mine.  This is required equipment for all Ultimate students.

 

Please do not wait until class starts to order the calibration hardware.  It is not just software, it requires an actual physical piece of equipment that you may need to have shipped to you.  Order it as soon as possible and once it arrives, please calibrate your monitor. If you have problems, post in the Tech Support forum in the Class forums.

 

http://a.co/ihV7lUM

 

I know it's not a inexpensive, but this is a piece of equipment you'll buy once.  I've been using the same one for years.  There are others out there, but this is the one I am familiar with and I trust the results.  

 

One other thing to be aware of is that the quality of your monitor will also have an impact on how your images look.  If you're working with an old monitor or laptop, it is probably not going to show you the full range of brights and darks that a newer monitor will. 

 

 

 

 

×
×
  • Create New...

Important Information

Guidelines